On July 3rd some 300 Rotarians and guests attended the District 7080 annual Awards and Changeover Night. This year the event was hosted by the Rotary Club of Palgrave at the Royal Ambassador on Innis Lake in the rolling hills of Caledon.

The evening began on the patio but due to threatening skies moved indoors where a wonderful Jazz Group provide pleasant background music.

Just before dinner 8 of our past and present District Governors were piped into the hall with Bert Grapes leading the way.

During the course of the evening 21 clubs were presented with the Rotary International Presidents Citation by Rotary international Director Bryn Styles.

Outgoing District Governor, Ian Ferguson, also presented awards to outgoing members of the District Council.

Our foundation chair Bob Palmateer presented the Rotary Foundation award to Randy Seager for all his great work in organizing Group Study Exchange teams over the past number of years.

Four dedicated members of our district, Peter McCann, Syd Harmon, Chris Byrnes and Hajra Wilson, were then showcased by video tributes and awarded Paul Harris Fellowships.

The new Governor’s Team was introduced by means of the passing of the pins: Immediate Past District Governor Ian Ferguson, District Governor Mike Gauthier, District Governor Elect Patsy Marshall and District Governor Nominee Will Pugh. Past District Governor Bernd Dinnert also was on hand to present Ian with his Past District Governor pin.

After brief addresses by outgoing Governor Ian and incoming Governor Mike the crowd was entertained by a promotional Rap Video announcing the falls district conference.

All in all a great night with a great bunch of Rotarians.